top of page
  • Writer's pictureKirsten Edwards

Jimmy and the Bridge by Kenneth Saunders

Updated: Nov 11, 2023



From the inside front flap: "This story about Jimmy is true. There is a bridge across the Auckland Harbour and there is a horse named Jimmy. However, just as the grown-ups do in their books, we must say that "any similarity between persons mentioned in this book and persons living or dead is purely coincidental." Ask Mother or Father what that big word means! I'm sure you will love Mr. Luscombe's illustrations. Doesn't Jimmy look proud? When you cross the bridge, see if you can see the pylon - it is by the North Shore approach road."



In my recent visit to the National Library, I was able to view this book which has been on my wishlist for a very long time. Kenneth Saunders also wrote Wanganui Adventure and this is the only other book he wrote for children. This is the only copy I can find in all of New Zealand as well. (Since I wrote this blog I have been able to purchase a copy for myself from a second-hand book store!) It is a very rare book. If you find a copy, buy it and treasure it - what a gem.


This book is about the size of an A4 picture book. The inside is a combination of black and white drawings and coloured pictures. Here are some examples.




It tells the story of the building of the Auckland Harbour Bridge. When constructing one of the pylons, Jimmy the horse is used to pull a digger because the vibrations of the machinery would cause some of the diggings to collapse. Jimmy becomes a bit of a celebrity for a time because of this. You can hear a 1959 radio broadcast of the bridge opening and at the 8:30 mark, you can hear the commentator describing Jimmy the Horse in the parade.


This book was written for young children (under 8 years). I wouldn't call it a living book, but I would recommend it for its artwork and historical value.



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page