top of page
  • Writer's pictureKirsten Edwards

A River Rules My Life by Mona Anderson

Updated: Nov 11, 2023



Back cover showing location of station

From the inside front and back flaps: "The river was my Rubicon. I had heard stories about the terrible Wilberforce: so many people had been drowned in it. I tried not to think about the time when I would have to cross it. But the road had come to an end at a corrugated iron shed. Somewhere beyond it, I knew we would find the station, Mount Algidus, a green, high-country oasis amid the snow and tussock..."

So Mona Anderson, newly married to the manager of Mount Algidus Station, came to her high-country home.

" Before I was married I knew nothing about station life. I could have distinguished between a cow and a sheep and I could sometimes tell a lamb chop from a pork chop, but that was the limit of my experience, and I was determined to keep my ignorance to myself."

This book is the story of Mona Anderson's twenty-tree years in one of the most isolated sheep farms in New Zealand, a 100,000-acre station that occupies almost all the country between two great rivers and which runs from their junction back to the Main Divide of the Southern Alps. Almost at her front door, the Wilberforce River runs in carelessly-braided, thigh-deep channels or as a treacherous, raging flood. When the river level is down the folk of Mount Algidus can reach or leave the station by crossing on horseback or heavy truck; when the river carries rain or thawed snow it fills the wide riverbed, destroys known fords, shifts its gravel banks and channels, and gives warning of danger or death to those who, in follow or of necessity, essay to cross. But although the river rules, this is not a book of death and danger. It is the story of an isolated little community of homestead folk, shepherds, cooks, and cowboys; of the good neighbours (the nearest are seven miles down and across the river) of the Rakaia Gorge; of the working year with the merino flock; and of the host of characters and experiences that have marked Mrs Anderson's years at Mount Algidus, and which are recorded with vivacity, honest and humour. This is the first women's book the high country, which is a distinction in itself, but it is by no means merely a "woman's book". A river Rules My life has notable qualities in its observation and interpretation of back-station life, and Mrs Anderson writes with warm appreciation of the men and women who have shared her life at Mount Algidus, and whose comings and goings have been governed by the ice-cold Wilberforce River."



Although this book isn't written for children, I read it because I discovered one of her other books, "Home is the High Country: My Small Animal Friends". I did some research on the author and discovered she wrote, "A River Rules My Life" which became a best seller in New Zealand and she became a celebrity because of it. I saw a copy in a bookstore, bought it, and read it.



I thoroughly enjoyed the book devouring each chapter as Mona described her life from coming to the station, crossing the terrifying Wilberforce, and learning all about farm life from scratch.


She writes in a very engaging way which makes the book very difficult to put down. The characters on the station are very interesting.



When Mona moves to the station, it is run with large bay horses and teamsters. Mail comes once a week and they buy their groceries once a year! By the time Ron, her husband retires, they are using tractors and a radio for communication, and there's an airfield. Technology makes an enormous difference in their lives.


They farm through a war, an earthquake, countless storms, and endless snow. It's a very tough life. But somehow Mona makes it seem enjoyable. She focuses on the animals, the people, the scenery, the relationships, and the endless cooking. So much cooking!



The book is over 200 pages with black and white photos throughout. There is also a map showing how the river intercepts the station. I found the map hard to follow, so it might be better to jump onto Google Maps/Earth and have a good look there too.



There are plenty of copies of this book around. It is a New Zealand classic and has sold over 100,000 copies! It was recently republished in 2017. You should be able to find one in your local library or second-hand bookstore easily. I highly recommend this interview on RNZ by Harry Broad. It's only 5 minutes long.


The author Mona Anderson

Read more about who Mona Anderson is here.


I would recommend this book for older teens because of the length and reading level. A few of the station hands get drunk, but there is nothing else of concern in the book.



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page